Dome Radar For Finding Birds

Florida Sportsman

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Dome Radar For Finding Birds

Ok, finally bit the bullet and bought another boat. 25 contender currently has an old dome radar on it that works fine for weather/navigation. I would need to move outriggers/antennas, etc to put an open array on it and I dont want to do that. I have noticed that Raymarine's new HD domes have a mode for finding birds. (Raymarine RD424HD 4kw) Could anyone WITH EXPERIENCE tell me if it is reasonable to find birds with this unit and how effectively. The only reason I say WITH EXPERIENCE is because I know the old rule is 6kw open array at a minimum but technology is always moving forward. I dont want to spend a bunch of money if it will not do the job.
    I am not a newbie and have owned boats with open array in the past (I am only mentioning this so no one answers with too much info assuming I dont know anything about radars or finding birds
    Thanks in advance for any info.

P.S. I didnt buy the boat for tuna fishing but it would be nice a couple times a year.

Sushiwagon II

I have used a 4kw dome to find birds all summer. The range is limited and it takes some (multiple) setting changes but if you keep in mind your range will be limited to a few miles or less it can be done as long as its clear.

Thanks Capt, could you tell me what brand and model radar and can you find them at 3-4 miles???
    Just trying to get as many facts as possible. Thanks again for the input.
    Chuck Norris doesnt wear a watch, Chuck Norris decides what time it is!

Raymarine raydome (rd24) or something around that part number coupled with a ray e120. Like I said limited range but it can be done.

With a 4kw radar (new or old) you can see most of the birds the radar will pick up, with your naked eye.

Just purchased a Garmin HD Dome, was wondering if Idlewilde has any experience with the new HD Technology?