Sig Sauer Mosquito or Walther P22??

dorado954dorado954 Posts: 8 Greenhorn
I am normally scouring the fishing side of this forum however I hope someone can help me with this firearm question. I am looking into buying a .22 for plinking and target practice. I have narrowed my search to the Sig Sauer Mosquito and the Walther P22. I have only ever used a .40 Glock 27 and a Walther PK380 I have put a few hundred rounds through each. I did not like the feel of the PK380 it felt cheapish and the mag release was really weird. I am still new to shooting and just want this to practice with I like how the Moaquito is a scaled down version of the P226 so that in the future when I move up to a larger caliber I will be used to the size and grip. Anyways any suggestions on those two would be appreciated. Also I know they are both very picky on ammo and people suggest the CCI mini-mags. But I have found the CCI blazers for very cheap. Is this ammo comparable to the mini-mags? Thanks for the help!

• fish_stixfish_stix Posts: 1,237 Officer
    Sig builds best quality firearms. 'nuff said.
  • TriplecleanTripleclean Posts: 6,591 Officer
    I held the SR 22 ruger pistol last week and it felt great and Im going to shoot the heck out of it soon. It's a Sig and Walter .22 KILLER. Also it only $330. Its eats all ammo. will find out soon.
  • 1FSM1FSM Posts: 114 Officer
    I have both Sig Sauer Mosquito and Walther P22 and IMHO they are not the pistol you should get.

I got the P22 about 6 years ago to use with my can and it works great for that purpose but it is not very accurate.
    Without the can the little P22 works best with Minimag but nothing else is very reliable. With the can it feeds and cycles the Federal bulk ammo like candy... I guess it needs that extra back pressure can provides.