Tide vs time of day?

KableguyKableguy Posts: 1 Greenhorn
I'm new to fishing Florida and new to saltwater. I fish mainly from shore or near shore. My question is this. In Ohio where I'm from during the summer the best times to fish are right at sunrise and sunset. I would be on the water at sunup and the bite usually dies off by 10AM. I know that tide greatly affects fishing here. If the best tide flow of the day is let's say at 11:00 AM  is it better to be on the water at sunup or during the best tide time. Just fishing for inshore/near-shore species. I know fish will seek shade from the hot sun, but will they bite during the day? Thanks.

Replies

• Rich MRich M Posts: 961 Officer
    You will find that it varies.  LOL!

Tide has a lot of influence in areas with current flow - outgoing often trumps incoming - but not always.

Flats & surf  fishing is often best in the early hours of the morning.

Feed periods often have some effect - you need to journal your fishing for a while and see if it makes a diff where you fish.
  • DropTheHammerDropTheHammer East CoastPosts: 341 Deckhand
    Yeah we know.

Ball park answer. Magic hour, new moon, during an ebb or flood.
    It varies from species to species, time of year or season and location.
    Nothing is written in stone. ;)

How do you know?

rod, real, line, rig, components. one does more than the other.
    They all work together.

I have A big inventory. We have A little of A lot. The industry is massive.
    I'm sorry we don't carry that, but a majority of my customers are asking me for this.

I'll show you. ;)
    We all new what we were doing until DropTheHammer showed up.
  • DrKDrK Posts: 231 Deckhand
    The answer is yes, they will bite once the tide moves even in the middle of the day but it becomes golden when the sunrise and sunset synchs with tide movement.  Looking at the situation you presented, the bright side of it is that they just might be biting the whole day.