Osceola Experience

Biggles101Biggles101 Lake City, FLPosts: 12 Greenhorn
Hey y'all,

I'm new to hunting, I don't have family or close friends that are hunters, but I'll be on the forums reading a lot and asking acquaintances for help also.

My question is, when should I start scouting here in North Florida, and what should I be looking for? I know that deer eat tons of different things like, apples, persimmons, acorns, tender leaves, and the like. What specifically will I be looking for in Osceola?

Also, if anybody has any experience using Google Earth to find where the deer are I would live some advice because I've been reading around and most of the things I find online have to do with finding out the topography and that really doesn't apply in Florida because of how flat it is here.

And finally, what are your thoughts on walking/stalking or just sitting in a chair/using a blind vs using a tree stand here in Osceola/NE FL?

Thanks in advance everybody!

Replies

• ValhallaValhalla Posts: 114 Deckhand
    In most of Osceola there will be various ages of planted pine and cypress dome and swamps. If you are on google earth, the cypress will show up as a lighter gray. If you look along streams and near water you will see more hardwoods like gum and cypress. The pines will be generally a little higher land.

Much of Osceola is wet much of the year, so make sure you have waterproof snake boots. You will want to hike the fire breaks looking for game trails, poop, rubs. I would try to get away from the crowds. I have not found many stands of oak or persimmoms, apples, etc in Osceola, but I have only scouted up north. I would just start hiking those firebreaks in hard to reach spots looking for sign. Take water, compass, and GPS. Cell signals are iffy at best. Good luck!
  • H20dadH20dad Posts: 744 Officer