What size guides do you recommend

I’m new to rod building I got a kit for Christmas it’s a 7ft blank medium fast action what size guides would you recommend, the rod will be a spinning inshore rod I have 25-12-8-6-5-5-5-5-5-5 guides are they too small or should they work

Replies

• Alex from GAAlex from GA Posts: 1,133 Officer
    If the knots will go through cleanly they're fine. I usually use 4s for running guides because of the weight.
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 2,798 Captain
    Since I've built my own rods for a lot of years - whenever I go into a big box store with hundreds of rods for sale.. .I make a point of looking at them. These days almost all of the guides I see on many rods are just too small for those of us that fish saltwater (where a short leader of heavier material is a routine deal... Put simply, those tiny guides are just fine for freshwater use (where you hardly ever use a leader) but a real problem when your running line is connected to 30, 40, or heavier leaders since the knot just won't come up inside those BS guides...

And yes, manufacturers do count every penny in the components for fishing rods - smaller guides are cheaper....

Here's what I recommend - nothing smaller than a #8 guide (that #8 directly measures the inside of the ceramic ring on a guide...). I also want to make sure that the tiptop doesn't have a ring smaller than a #8...