Saying hello

zachfairclothzachfaircloth GainesvillePosts: 7 Greenhorn

Hi everyone,

I am a student in NC, originally from Horry county SC, and I may be moving to Gainesville for grad school. I am an avid kayak fisherman and can't wait to start exploring the water down there. I mostly fish freshwater for now-- love to target mudfish jackfish, and bream. Bass are nice too! But I look forward to getting into inshore fishing if I make the move. Just wanted to introduce myself and hopefully I will see some of you on the water.

Replies

• stc1993stc1993 Albany, GA Carrabelle, FLPosts: 4,475 Captain

Hogtown will be different than NC. Lots of pretty women & bums.

• fordmag84fordmag84 Bradenton, Fl Posts: 89 Greenhorn

Wait till you hook into a good snook, you'll forget all about that freshwater stuff. Hint, save your artificial frogs, they come in handy in low light.

• zachfairclothzachfaircloth GainesvillePosts: 7 Greenhorn

@stc1993 said:
    Hogtown will be different than NC. Lots of pretty women & bums.

Why do people call it Hogtown? I've seen that a lot on here. And I'm coming from Duke, so there's got to be more pretty girls than there are here

@fordmag84 said:
    Wait till you hook into a good snook, you'll forget all about that freshwater stuff. Hint, save your artificial frogs, they come in handy in low light.

I can't wait! Have always wanted to catch a snook and a tarpon, but I guess the latter are hard to come by

• stc1993stc1993 Albany, GA Carrabelle, FLPosts: 4,475 Captain

No, tarpon aren't that hard to come by. Landing one is a different story.

@stc1993 said:
    No, tarpon aren't that hard to come by. Landing one is a different story.

I look forward to failing many times, and maybe succeeding a few too

• jcanracerjcanracer Posts: 4,249 Moderator

Welcome aboard Zack! what kayak/SUP/canoe are you paddling/pedaling?

Hobie Kayak angler for life!

@jcanracer said:
    Welcome aboard Zack! what kayak/SUP/canoe are you paddling/pedaling?