When you bump a deer

spanglerspangler Posts: 351 Deckhand

What should you do when you bump a deer? I suppose the time of year might influence what action to take.

I usually just take a few notes (gps?bedding/eating?direction of travel? etc).

Should I be trying to track the deer (and find where it is escaping to)? Find trails where it/they came from? Or back out quietly and disturb the area as little as possible, and return at xx time of year. What else am I missing?

Also keep in mind, these are in places where I'm still learning the lay of the land.

Replies

• smellybucksmellybuck Posts: 21 Greenhorn

I always thought just keep walking like nothing happened and don't pay it any attention if its an area that you plan to keep hunting, show any type of predatory behavior and you'll never see that deer again.

• Soda PopinskiSoda Popinski GrovelandPosts: 7,731 Admiral

I've waved to em as they trot away.

People use statistics the way a drunk uses a street light, for support rather than illumination.
  • gritsnhuntin1gritsnhuntin1 Posts: 754 Officer

@smellybuck said:
    I always thought just keep walking like nothing happened and don't pay it any attention if its an area that you plan to keep hunting, show any type of predatory behavior and you'll never see that deer again.

This, I don't know how many does we walk up on knowing we can't kill. They also seem to know as well. It also works to keep walking and then try and circle back they will still be looking at where you were and sometimes you get an opportunity.

• Turner River TerrorTurner River Terror Posts: 4,990 Captain

When I'm Scouting I'm usually with my Hunting Pard. We talk loud and yell back and forth.
    Machetes out whacking vines.
    Sometimes we make deer move that would just lay there and let you walk by.