Big Snakehead 7/9

Caught this tank yesterday while fishing in western Broward. Fish was caught on an 8 inch zoom lizard and weighed 12.5 lbs!0831aa708c83e5fb38f5f5efcbc25ce7.pnge2d6998432e6d028c0359c94ffafcc18.png

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Replies

• bowhunter4lifebowhunter4life Posts: 883 Officer
    Almost looks like a cobia the way your son is holding it!
    I hear they are very good eating.
  • T - L U VT - L U V Posts: 187 Officer
    Almost looks like a cobia the way your son is holding it!
    I hear they are very good eating.

Yes I had a lot of people tell me that and yes they are very good eating. I have been eating fresh and saltwater fish for 40 years and these are one of my favorite.

• MuskiemanNCMuskiemanNC Posts: 77 Deckhand
    Is that a northern snakehead?

Nice fish
    Is that a northern snakehead?

Nice fish

Bullseye snakehead

• bowhunter4lifebowhunter4life Posts: 883 Officer
    T - L U V wrote: »
    Yes I had a lot of people tell me that and yes they are very good eating. I have been eating fresh and saltwater fish for 40 years and these are one of my favorite.

Going to have to try that. ... only fresh water fish I target for food is crappie.
    Going to have to try that. ... only fresh water fish I target for food is crappie.

Yes before these came along that's the only fish that I would eat would be the Crappie or catfish. I have had snakehead baked and they are very good but I prefer a piece of fried fish and the snakehead is amazingly white meat. If you get The chance to try a piece of fried snake head, I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

• GotBass?GotBass? Posts: 202 Deckhand
    That's a beast of a snakehead!!! One of the biggest,if not the biggest I've seen. Wonder what the length was?
    GotBass? wrote: »
    That's a beast of a snakehead!!! One of the biggest,if not the biggest I've seen. Wonder what the length was?

That fish was 39 inches

• sandwashsluggersandwashslugger Posts: 235 Officer