New to SE Florida - first boat?

Nickyboy99Nickyboy99 Posts: 3 Greenhorn
I am new to the SE Florida area (Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood area). I moved down from Chicago. I am an avid fisherman and have fished since I was a little kid and I owned 2 boats before I moved. I am looking into purchasing my first boat down here and wow.....the difference in boat types are night and day from what we typically used in the Midwest. My primary use will be for short offshore trips no more than 2-4 miles out fishing the reefs and structures (jigging and bottom fishing) as well as some trolling. I will stay away from days with high winds/seas or poor weather patterns. It is just my wife and I probably 75% of the time on the boat but I would like to make sure I have enough room for a few guests/friends (up to 5) and something that I can haul easily to the Keys. I have a newer Nissan Xterra that can tow up to 5000 pounds. I was thinking that a 19-20 foot center console would be adequate but also looking into a bay boat as that may be a little more versatile and still be able to go offshore to some degree. Initial budget is 15-20k so a used boat is obviously a must. Any thoughts/suggestions from local experienced experts will certainly come into play so any help to narrow down my decision would be most appreciated.

Replies

• FS DanFS Dan Posts: 2,322 Moderator