Single vs multi piece rods

charlessyversoncharlessyverson Posts: 41 Greenhorn

I recently moved to Florida and have previously purchased several St Croix Legend 3 piece travel rods. Now that I am a permanant resident, is there a benefit to purchasing one piece rods? The
Legends are obviously high quality, and I use braid, so I'm not sure there will be much benefit to buying new one piece rods. I am not against spending money!!! But am still looking for any feedback on the benefits of doing so. If I were to purchase one piece rods for inshore, any recommendations for high quality rods?

Replies

• charlessyversoncharlessyverson Posts: 41 Greenhorn

Also, would you rather fish a 1 piece tidemaster or a multi piece legend??

• FlecFlec Posts: 403 Deckhand

I prefer one piece for a more true,uniform action that is not interrupted by joints. 2 piece rods have their place, especially if storage space is limited.

• Bassin AssassinBassin Assassin Posts: 1,200 Officer

One piece always. Two piece rods can come apart at inopportune times.

Improve Our Fishery - Practice Catch and Release
  • jdl1948jdl1948 Posts: 79 Greenhorn

I prefer one-piece for the same reasons as Flec and Bassin Assassin. Plus, I've broken two rods on fish and both were two-piece that broke at the joint. I keep a couple of two-pieces for travel but seldom are they my first choice for a local trip out.

• fordmag84fordmag84 Posts: 37 Greenhorn

I just got a 8' Shimano Teramar, fast action, medium power. So far I am happy with it. I wish I would have got a 7'4", the 8' makes it kinda one dimensional, once you figure it out, it casts a mile, but forget about skipping under docks or 'groves.

• DES51DES51 Posts: 36 Greenhorn

If you are not having issues with the 2 piece, then why replace something that is not broken? I have fished a 2 piece rod for many years and only had a separation happen once!

• Rich MRich M Posts: 638 Officer