Thread fuzz/dust

Whats up guys, I am new to the rod building game and have only built 2 rods to date. I am currently wrapping up my 3rd rod, and need some advice on this "fuzz"/dust or whatever it is showing up on my thread wraps. It's pretty much invisible to the naked eye, but once illuminated with a flash light, it is clearly visible. I have learned from my last two builds that the finish will amplify any imperfection in the thread. Is it the thread? I am using gudebrod thread in size A. Any advice or tips would be great.

Here are some pics
Warp lit up
732u7s.jpg

wrap with not light
33l15c3.jpg

Replies

• Alex from GAAlex from GA Posts: 1,129 Officer
    Use a lighter and hold it under the wraps while you turn it. Move it back and forth to burn off the fuzz and the thread ends.
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 2,785 Captain
    Thread fuzz and dust are two different problems - the best solution for each is prevention - but you can deal with them after the fact as well...

As far as prevention goes your best bet is to carefully clean both your wrapping bench and the blank you're wrapping on before starting the thread. I use a dusting cloth and Pledge over my bench first - then carefully clean off the blank with a paper towel with a sprinkling of rubbing alcohol on it to pick up any fibers. Lastly in the same vein as we move into winter, colder, dryer air temps can also cause a static electricity problem - where your blank attracts airborne fibers. The best prevention for this that I've found are any fabric softener sheets that you'd use in your dryer. Take a new one and wipe your hands with it before you handle thread and you'll greatly reduce static problems (I learned this as a fly tyer....).