Boat painting help, please.

I have spent the last 5 months building a fiberglass over wood boat hull. I've been trying to paint it using roll and tip/backbrush techniques that I have learned on youtube, with bad results. I think I have sanded off a gallon of paint in my attempts!
I'm ready to go with spray painting but I have no skill or experience (obvious I don't brush painting either). If any of you who can spray point would be willing to come to my house and paint the hull it would be appreciated. I would furnish any needed equipment and paint, as well as compensate you for your time. We can do it inside the garage. I am retired so it can be at your convenience.
Thanks,
Richard

Replies

• PangamanPangaman Posts: 445 Deckhand
    I spray painted some stuff with the harbor freight spray guns. Just practice on a cardboard box until you get it dialed in before you try it on your boat. Just be careful if you are using 2 part polyurethanes with the spray gun, it is bad stuff for your lungs.
  • model14model14 Posts: 847 Officer
    I failed to mention that the boat is upside down, still on the roll around building jig. The boat is 7 x 20, so this is not a minor paint job.
  • RYAN1327RYAN1327 Posts: 6 Greenhorn
    I used a Harbor Freight sprayer, and Petit brand paint over raw fiberglass on my Gheenoe a few years ago. I was happy w/results. Just buy or borrow a big enough compressor. I had to stop every 20 seconds to build pressure back up.
    I've already been looking at that. Lowe's has it and I get a 10% military discount. YouTube makes it look easy. I am very concerned at my ability to hold a steady spray pattern down the side of a 20 foot boat. One screw up and it's all over. Makes me nervous.
  • TUGTUG Posts: 824 Officer
    harbor freight has a great selection of hvlp guns and equipment...and for a "one time use" they cant be beat.