pickling recipes

I know i can google basics recipes and i have found a few, but looking for a good one maybe someone had. I would like to do dill and bread and butter pickles. I've got my wide mouth quart mason jars ready. Pickles are almost ready. I do like garlic and spicy pickles. Any other pointers will gladly be appreciated since this is my first time canning pickles. Thanks for the info.

Replies

• no peekinno peekin Posts: 782 Officer
    from thevillagecook.com

I got “into” the canning. Once you realize the “rules” it’s simple. It does take some time- but the reward is a cute little pantry stocked with love. Now, here are the rules in my own words- but this is not to be used as instructions- READ THE BOOK LET THAT COMES WITH YOUR CANNER! This is just a introduction in case you’ve always kinda though about canning, etc.

1st- start with clean jars. No chips, cracks, etc-same goes for the 2 piece lids. I prefer the wide mouth jars for pickles. Easier to get your hand in there when they are ready to eat.

2nd- heat the jars (I boil mine because I like sterile things) heat the lid and bands to 180°F DON’T LET THE FLAT LID BOIL (it won’t seal right)

3rd in my opinion, that’s the most time consuming part- which is like a total of 15minutes, maybe?

Now, what I do while my jars are boiling and lids are simmering is prepare the innards of the jars

For pickles:

(this is an adaptation from the Ball Blue Book Of Canning)

1 qt white vinegar

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 c canning salt

1 qt water

fresh dill, chopped (about 1cup)

3 tbs Frontier (from the health food store) brand pickling spice

1 sp chopped garlic

Place the pickling spice and garlic into a piece of cheesecloth

place the other ingredients into a saucepan and simmer 15 minutes

While it’s simmering- prep your pickles cucumbers. Duh- they’re not pickles yet.I usually get about 8lbs.That will make 7pts or 3qts .