PDA

View Full Version : Best fish on fly by far!

Tarfly
08-24-2011, 06:43 PM
Caught this beauty in a canal near the river in north fort myers, she nevered jumped which was suprising, i got a little lucky that the fly was in the corner of her mouth, I only had 17lb fluoro tippet on. I've been catching small snook in the 12-15 inch range so thats reason for the smaller tippet. A pretty good fish for an 8wt., she ran under the mangroves a couple of times and I had to get "down and dirty" on her. My hands were shaking so bad when I gabbed her. Not sure what she weight or measured :( , below is a pic the fly she hit, i'm not good with remembering the names of flies but i think its a black/purple deceiver :shrug

http://i916.photobucket.com/albums/ad1/Scott_Tarbert/IMAG0137.jpg

http://i916.photobucket.com/albums/ad1/Scott_Tarbert/IMAG0138.jpg

Long_Live_Snook
08-24-2011, 07:37 PM
That is awesome, great fish!

Alan Marsh
08-24-2011, 07:41 PM
Awesome!

I'll guess 40" and 18lbs?

Ol'DirtyCaster
08-24-2011, 07:45 PM
That's a great fish. Lots of fish get released without being weighed or measured, and very few anglers have enough class to just let the picture do the talking the way you did. Thanks for sharing.

Tarfly
08-24-2011, 07:56 PM
That's a great fish. Lots of fish get released without being weighed or measured, and very few anglers have enough class to just let the picture do the talking the way you did. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks, ODC, i made sure she wasn't out of the water to long. She put up a great fight, but to be honest, if it wasn't the middle of summer and so hot, I don't think I would have caught her, I think the hot water made her come to hand a little easier than say late spring or early summer when the water temps were cooler, the warmer water helped with me with being a little under gunned with an 8wt in tight corders.

Shadowcast
08-24-2011, 08:24 PM
That is an awesome snook! Black and purple is one of my favorite color combos.

Ol'DirtyCaster